September 12, 2018

Hydrogen stored in a liquid – Founder of Hydrogenious LOHC Technologies GmbH nominated for the “Deutscher Zukunftspreis”

Three founders of Hydrogenious LOHC Technologies GmbH, Prof. Wolfgang Arlt, Prof. Peter Wasserscheid and Dr. Daniel Teichmann, have been nominated for the “Deutscher Zukunftspreis”, the German President’s Award for Innovation in Science and Technology 2018. The nomination recognizes the ground breaking research and development achievements of the scientists in the field of hydrogen storage and its successful commercial implementation as an important contribution to a future sustainable energy system. The “Deutscher Zukunftspreis” will be awarded by the President of the Federal Republic of Germany Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier in Berlin on November 28th, 2018.


The nominees have jointly developed the LOHC technology (Liquid Organic Hydrogen Carrier) to market readiness. With this type of hydrogen storage, the hydrogen is bound to a non-explosive and non-toxic carrier liquid and released again when required. Hydrogenious LOHC Technologies’ patented technology thus enables the efficient and safe storage of hydrogen. Bound in the LOHC, hydrogen can be transported in the conventional fuel infrastructure and is suitable for the long-distance global transport of renewable energies.



The founders of Hydrogenious LOHC Technologies are guided by the vision of using renewable hydrogen instead of petroleum products and using the existing infrastructure for fuels. The company has already received several awards for the innovative development of the LOHC technology, including the Innovation Prize of the German Industry, the “Energy Transition Award” of the German Energy Agency and the Bavarian Founder’s Prize. On Wednesday, the Erlangen-based company was nominated for this year’s “Zukunftspreis” of the German President at a ceremony in the Deutsches Museum in Munich.



Prof. Wasserscheid presenting Hydrogenious LOHC Technologies at the nomination ceremony in Munich

The award ceremony will take place at the end of November 2018 in Berlin in the presence of all nominees via the German President Frank-Walter Steinmeier. Every year, the President awards the prize to excellent scientific innovations that at the same time develop economic potential and create jobs.







Read more about the nomination and the “Deutscher Zukunftspreis” on the websites of the Award “Deutscher Zukunftspreis” and the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg.